Ouya Unity Plugin for Newer Unity Versions

Hello devs, upon finding out that to use rewired input for Ouya I needed the ouya unity plugin, I had no other choice (I probably did) but to get the plugin working on the most recent version of unity that can build to Ouya. This version happens to be Unity 2019.2.21f1.

As some of you have noticed, the Ouya unity plugin makes the game crash as soon as you open it. Through some debugging with log cat, I was able to track down the moment the game crashes which is in the custom Activity inside OuyaUnityPlugin.jar(Assets/Plugins/Android/libs). To be honest I’m no java expert or have experience with native android code, but I was able to figure out from the unity docs that the way to create a custom entry Activity looks different from how the Ouya team did it(they create a new script that extends Activity, docs say to extend the included UnityPlayerActivity. Also I feel like it could be that unity changed their namespace in newer versions, I don’t really know).

Knowing this and after a couple attempts I finally arrived at the solution of creating a new Android Studio project and adding all the scripts from the plugin’s source code(thanks goodness the java source code is available on Ouya’s github) and modifying the MainActivity.java file to extend UnityPlayerActivity and removed some code that UnityPlayerActivity takes care of. Along the way I kept getting lots of errors from TurretMouseService.java about it using methods that require minimum api to be higher than level 16, so I messed with some of that code and Razer Turret Mouse might not work as expected. I was able to build the OuyaUnityPlugin.aar and replace the old jar file and… IT WORKED! My Ouya launched the game just fine.